Use Caution When Scanning Sensitive Documents to Email

Submitted by Anonymous (not verified) on Mon, 04/22/2013 - 14:07

Your Ricoh and Lexmark MFPs have a convenient and useful feature that can potentially become a disasterous drawback if you are not aware of its capabilities.

The machines will remember your scan to email settings for a brief period of time so that you can send multiple scans to the same email address. This is great for when you have several documents to scan to a particular recipient, but could prove costly if you are working with documents that have different levels of sensitivity within your organization.

Let's say you have a very important and confidential document that is meant for the CEO's eyes only, but a co-worker just finished scanning a job that was sent to the entire staff — without enough time passing between scans, you could end up emailing your sensitive document to the whole company!

Your machine's memory will typically last about 60 seconds, but may be longer or shorter based on the customization of your machine.

Fortunately you can avoid disaster with this quick and easy way to reset the MFPs settings.

  • If you have a Ricoh: hit the yellow button to clear the memory before you scan.
  • If you have a Lexmark: hold down the home button for a few seconds until the machine beeps.

Now you can safely start your next scan to email job.

Document Scanning

Document Scanners

Tags